>> About UNESCO Chair

UNESCO was established on 16 November 1945 with the purpose of contributing “to peace and security by promoting collaboration among the nations through education, science and culture.”

   UNITWIN is the acronym used to denote the University Twinning and Networking scheme. The programme was established in 1992 following the relevant decision of the General Conference of UNESCO during its 26th session. The UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Programme consists of the establishment of UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks at higher education institutions. It serves as a prime means of building the capacities of higher education and research institutions through the exchange of knowledge and sharing in a spirit of international solidarity. Consequently, it promotes North–South, South–South, and triangular cooperation as a strategy to develop institutions.

   In FY 2006, Okayama University submitted a request to establish the “UNESCO Chair on Research and Education for Sustainable Development at Okayama University,” which was approved by UNESCO in April 2007. The UNESCO Chair at Okayama University was established to promote projects related to Education for Sustainable Development (ESD).